Previous entry....Next entry

2002-06-06 - ?:??

In which life is perfect

The jagged sky cut into the towers of smooth rock hurtling upwards toward infinity. The world tilted upside down to expose the soft red and blue desert underneathe it -- we danced under the moon and the stars.
Someone started a fire. I don't remember when, only that when I inspected the deep orange flickering in the corners of my vision I discovered an almost wet-looking collection of yellow flames, licking the outline of sky, a young child crunching on the remains of a once smooth sheet of crystalized purple sugar. The fire powered the world, consuming tumble weed and discarded water bottles, shrinking them into balled up celaphane which screamed in protest, whereas I screamed out of unrepressed joy. We echoed through the rocks, together.
Unnatural green flourescent light danced on the break between Earth and space, like the lights of a faraway alien city. It was here that I turned into a picture of warm melted elastic being printed out by an old dot matrix printer. The light was too bright, the heat was too hot, and the music transcended all future and past generations with hardly an echo of regret. All in all, life was beautiful.
Smiling looked like a permanent state, as if wind and sand had eroded rock faces into grinning, gaping happy mouths -- someone put a pacifier in mine...I think it was red.
The ability to speak became vestigial somewhere around 3 AM, and it dried up and shrank like charred limbs. I stared at the heat, which everyone fed with whatever it is they thought would burn, and watched as every word that had ever been said reappeared to me through the flame and renounced itself. The echoless vaccuum of my mind punctured, so that I did not need to say anything to be understood.
(Who was it that pulled me out of and away from the fire later that night, as it surged and spat,angry with paper or gasoline?)
The purple of the world receded like magic: when I blinked, it was morning, and the world was still running off the energy of the fire, which I never saw finally extinguish.

Mail
The Past
Diaryland