remove ad

Previous entry....Next entry

2001-06-25 - 2:18 a.m.

Counting sheep VS. sorting nuts and bolts

I tossed and turned, counted. I was going to count sheep, as per the traditional remedy, but I know myself better than to actually think that would work. I would most likely lay there, laughing at how funny the sheep looked jumping over that fence to no where, and wondering if they realize how hollow their lives are, just jumping over fences to aid in my sleeping. Then I would remember the "dream sheep" in that Dragon Tales show and would also remember that cartoon where they sheared the sheep and made a sweater and then put the sweater on the sheep, and I would laugh again at the irony and sheer pointlessness of it. I would never get to sleep. Instead, I sorted mental nuts and bolts, which was just about the most boring thing I could think of. After I pondered upon which was the nut and which the bolt, I began sorting them. Nut, nut, bolt, nut, bolt, bolt, bolt, nut. I knew that the randomness (nut, nut, bolt, nut) wouldn't really help me to sleep as well, but I also knew the unlikely-hood of coming up with a perfect nut-bolt-nut-bolt sequence, and just that would keep me awake. So I kept sorting. Nut, nut, bolt, nut, bolt...Then I realized that there seemed to be more nuts than bolts, and that was wrong because the number of nuts and bolts were supposed to add up.

Needless to say, I am still awake.

Mail
The Past
Diaryland